Haley interviews Charlotte Ronson

by haley sherif

It was a privilege to attend New York Fashion Week earlier this month, but it was dream come true to be second row at Charlotte Ronson’s show along with such well known faces as Russell Simmons and Rachel Zoe. I’ve admired Charlotte’s beautiful collection for awhile. All of her designs tell a story, she’s an artist who takes nothing for granted, who celebrates the talent around her whether it be in her family or out. Most recently she collaborated with Sephora on her makeup line called, Charlotte Ronson Beauty. Charlotte dishes on her latest collection, five things she can’t live without, and her advice for the up and coming.

HS: How would you describe your style?

CR: Feminine, but a little tomboyish.

HS: Tell me the back story behind Charlotte Ronson. Why did you create the collection?

CR: I come from a creative family and it exposed me to lots of different areas from music, to art and fashion. I felt most like myself and a sense of freedom in fashion. I started off creating custom vintage tee’s for friends and haven’t looked back since.

HS: Did you always think you would want to be a clothing designer?

CR: My mother used to tell me when I was younger that I should find something I love and go for it.  I’ve always been interested in the arts and fashion.


Samantha Ronson, Charlotte Ronson, and Annabelle Dexter

HS: You’ve shown at Mercedes Benz New York Fashion Week for several seasons now. What do you love about it?

CR: Seeing everything you’ve been working for come to life on the runway in front of the editors and your friends and family and the intensity of backstage. Behind the scenes before the show, is such an adrenaline rush!

HS: Did you ever think you would have such success with your brand?

CR: From the outside fashion is all glamour and fun, but to be successful, you must put in the hours and work extremely hard. I have been fortunate to have the support of  friends and family, but in the end it always comes down to how passionate you are, and how much your willing to put into your dream.

HS: How would you describe your Spring/Summer 2013 collection? 

CR: This season I find inspiration in the elements of water. It’s lightness and strength and purity. I have kept the silhouettes clean, simple & modern with fluid lines and  curves that are reminiscent of the waves. Colours explore shades of ocean blues and greens, sunny yellows that set a perfect afternoon seascape. There is a tranquility and refined quality to this collection that I have been working towards the past few seasons and feel that I have finally found the perfect balance. It’s sophisticated and sexy but it focuses on all those great areas on a women’s body that are subtly sexy. Her shoulders, the sides of her back, her shoulder blades, the hint of skin at the side above your waist. It’s all about modern pieces that you will love and will become staples in your wardrobe.

HS: Where do you look for inspiration?

CR: I find inspiration from my travels, I go to shows, galleries & movies and I love photography and most importantly I make sure to keep my eyes wide open and pay attention to what’s going on around me.  You never know when you will be inspired!

HS: Why did you decide to launch your makeup line with Sephora, Charlotte Ronson Beauty?

CR: We have been partnering with Sephora for my runway show for the past few seasons and they have always done an impeccable job translating the look of my girl on the runway. So it was a natural progression to work with them to create a beauty line together. They are one of the world’s leading beauty brands and I feel so lucky and honored to work with such a driving force in the beauty industry.

HS: What five things can you not live without?

CR: My dog, Oliver, my Mogu pillow, my iPhone, skim lattes, and my twin sister, Samantha.

HS: What other designers do you love?

CR: Stella McCartney, Prozena Schouler, Phoebe Philo, Karl Lagerfeld, The Row, Charlotte Olymipa, Isabel Marant, Erdem, Celine, and Chloe.

HS: What advice would you give to up and coming designers?

CR: Be prepared to work hard, no-one will teach you everything you need to learn, so you have to be like a sponge and just take everything in.